Wednesday the 30th of September

Couple weeks after the last blog post, I started work on a portrait I was commissioned to do for my sister’s friend. Even though the going was slightly rough, I enjoyed it. My client was satisfied, the portrait and money exchanged hands. Everything was fine for the next three days – I mean my mood. Then it hit – depression. I don’t know if it was depression returning or worsening or if it was an episode. Maybe the term depressive episode is more apt. Will clarify with doctor.

The episode didn’t happen just like that (there were reasons) and the past two weeks were really baaaad! In my desperate search for relief from the emotional pain, I searched the Internet (where else) for answers. My doctor had forbidden me to do this because some, if not most, Internet information on depression are not reliable. I remembered this and although I did read a few dozen articles, I looked for books on depression. I came across an audio book on youtube – The Mindful Way Through Depression. Here is the link:

I don’t know what to think of the book but it gave answers for a lot of my mental and emotional distress. Very interesting. Even if you don’t have depression, it may help you to understand a relative or a close friend who is suffering.

I feel a little better now – hence the new post 🙂 But you know what? From now on, I am going to post no matter my mood. The posts might be less cheery, that’s all! So, with my client’s permission, here is the portrait I did:

11"X14" Colored pencil on paper

11″X14″
Colored pencil on paper

For some inexplicable reason (i think it is called inspiration), midway through the work, I put morning glories in her hair – a Lefebvre-nymph style. Then I srcubbed the flowers away and went back to the original path. I took a picture of it though and am going to put it on my Facebook page.

That’s it for today. Till next time, take care and remember to breathe….

Leave a Reply

